Sunday Club Criterium 17th Feb

Thanks to Jon Lindley and Stewart Hansson for the Race Report and commissiairing.

A GRADE: 7 starters

Several brave attempts by Raf to ride off the front ultimately earned him a 2nd place. With 2 laps to go Raf made a final attempt and made good ground on the lead bunch. He looked to have it sewn up. The bunch chased hard and shooting from the pack up the penultimate rise out of the gully was new rider (to Toowoomba) Daniel Morrison gaining space on the chase group and reeling in Raf in just before the line. Raf hung on to 2nd with Trent winning the gallop of the rest for 3rd. A great race!

1st: Daniel Morrison
2nd: Raf Vainikka
3rd: Trent West

B GRADE: 9 starters

This was the best sprint finish of the day. The pack whittled down to 5 with 1/3 of the race left. Justin led out. Josh showed if he can hang on to the pack he is hard to beat in a sprint collecting 1st prize. Adam (2nd) sprinted well to reel in Ryan at the line and may have got Josh if another 10 metres.

1st: Josh Watts
2nd: Adam Grams
3rd: Ryan Kennedy

C GRADE: 12 starters

With most riders staying together in the first half of the race, a mid race spurt dropped a few with the lead bunch of 5 setting up for another bunch sprint. Steve tried a break-away mid race but came back to the pack obviously saving some up. Gabby was there representing the girls, but the strength of Steve in the sprint was too much with Heath close behind. BLR president Peter claimed third just in front of Andrew who rode strongly.

1st: Steven Randall
2nd: Heath Mengel
3rd: Peter Mouatt
4th: Andrew Kennedy
5th: Gabby Vainikka

D GRADE: 11 starters

The pace was on from the beginning and by the 3rd lap the field was well split. Riders dropped slowly but steadily from the pace set by Phil with Mia being the only rider there at the end to challenge. And challenge she did winning the sprint home. Good rides too from Dave, Stephen and Jason to firstly hang on for as long as they could then ride strong solo efforts to pick up the minor places

1st: Mia Wilkes
2nd: Phil Leydon
3rd: Dave Flohr
4th: Stephen Dummett
5th: Jason Page

JUNIORS: 3 starters

These boys do not how to take it easy. The effort put in was 100%, right to the end. Thomas was the strongest today. Nick chased hard. Taylor looked to carry an injury but soldiered on.

1st: Thomas Markey
2nd: Nicholas Markey
3rd: Taylor Silk

Next Toowoomba event Saturday afternoon 2nd March. 2.30pm rego. Racing from 3.00pm

This Friday (22nd) to Sunday(24th) – Qld Masters Track titles