18/05/2013 Combined Club Criterium

Results from Combined Club Criterium Saturday 18th May 2013

D Grade
1st Nick Vroomans ADF Cycling
2nd Michael Hawley TCC
3rd David Flohr BLR
At the end of the D Grade race there were five in the bunch, and one lapped.
The Auld Phart

C Grade
1st Jon Lindley BLR
2nd Dead Heat b/n Heath Mengel & Charlie Bennett both BLR
The biggest field of the day with 12 riders. A steady pace to start with for the first half of the race then a series of attacks from Jon Lindley and Peter Mouatt late in the 2nd half. Jon managed to get clear for a while then was caught with 2 laps to go. With half a lap to go Jon again attacked approaching the back hill and made good ground on the pack and managed
to hold on for the win. 2nd Place was a dead heat between Heath Mengel and Charlie Bennett in a strong bunch sprint.

B Grade
1st Harvey Silk TCC
2nd Adam Grams TCC
3rd Pedr Harvey Narrabri CTC
The pace was fast and furious from the onset. Multiple attacks came from Pedr Harvey and Adam Grams. Hard chasing by Tom Galbraith and Rob Walker kept the breakaways at bay. Tom did a lot of work late in the race. The sprint was
initially a tussle between Pedr and Harvey Silk clear of the bunch at the corner. But Harvey proved too strong going clear. Adam caught Pedr in the final metres to claim 2nd. Well done to Harvey.

A Grade
1st Gary Kristensen HPRW
2nd Trent West BLR
3rd Seb Scott BLR
Only 6 riders in the race made for a tough day considering the whole race was a series of attacks. The main instigator was Raf Vainikka, riding very strongly but the others worked to reel him in a number of times. In the end it came it was the
craftiness of Gary Kristensen (the old man in the group) who got the jump on the remaining group of 4 into the final corner and just held off to win from a fast finishing Trent and Seb Scott.